

AADEBUG2003

Fifth Intl. Workshop on Automated and Algorithmic Debugging

Ghent, Belgium, September 8-10, 2003

Call for Papers and Demos

http://aadebug2003.elis.rug.ac.be

Over the past decades automated debugging has seen major achievements. However, as debugging is by necessity attached to particular programming paradigms, the results are scattered. The aims of the workshop are to gather common themes and solutions across programming communities, and to cross-fertilize ideas. We seek papers describing original research as well as reports on practical experience. We also welcome demonstrations of tools and research prototypes.

Typical topics of the workshop include (but are not limited to):

automated debugging type debugging algorithmic debugging trace analysis program slicing performance debugging debugging by simulation declarative debugging knowledge-based debugging assertion-based debugging software testing monitoring parallel and distributed debugging debugging using record/replay

for any kind of programming paradigms (sequential, parallel, distributed, real-time, logic programming, functional, object-oriented, imperative, visual languages).

Accepted papers and demo descriptions will be included in the workshop proceedings, distributed locally on paper and CD, and will also be published on the CoRR (Computing Research Repository) website. Authors of the best papers will be invited to submit journal versions of their papers to a special issue of the Journal of Automated Software Engineering on automated debugging.

Demonstration of tools and research prototypes that implement new ideas in debugging automation will be part of the AADEBUG2003 technical program. Demos will be given in sessions together with technical paper presentations. Both demos and regular papers will receive a 30' time slot.

Submission of Papers

Contributors should be aware that the prospective audience will not necessarily be familiar with the addressed programming paradigms, which should, therefore, be briefly introduced. Papers should be no longer than 5000 words in length, including a 150 to 200 word abstract. Submit papers by uploading a PDF file to http://aadebug2003.elis.rug.ac.be. Concurrently send an e-mail to aadebug2003@elis.rug.ac.be with the title of the paper, names of the authors, full address of the correspondent and a 150 to 200 word abstract of the paper.

Submission of Demos

Demo descriptions should be no longer than 2000 words including a 150 to 200 word abstract. Submit demos by uploading a PDF file to http://aadebug2003.elis.rug.ac.be. Concurrently send an e-mail to aadebug2003@elis.rug.ac.be containing the title of the demo, names of the authors, full address of the correspondent and a 150 to 200 word abstract of the paper. Clearly mention the fact that you submit a demo and not a regular paper in your email.

Authors having problems to submit using the web server can send the paper to aadebug2003@elis.rug.ac.be.

Conference Information

The website for AADEBUG2003 containing this Call for Papers and more information about the conference can be found at http://aadebug2003.elis.rug.ac.be. If you encounter any kind of problem or need more information mail to aadebug2003@elis.rug.ac.be.

Important Dates

Paper and demo submission before March 15, 2003 Notification of acceptance by May 15, 2003 Final version of paper before June 30, 2003 (this applies to the local and the CoRR proceedings)

Sponsors



General Chair Koen De Bosschere Ghent University, Belgium kdb@elis.rug.ac.be **Program Chair** Michiel Ronsse Ghent University, Belgium ronsse@elis.rug.ac.be **Program Committee** Mikhail Auguston New Mexico State University, USA Koen De Bosschere Ghent University, Belgium Jacques Chassin de Kergommeaux LSR/ENSIMAG, France Jong-Deok Choi IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA Mireille Ducassé IRISA/INSA, France Peter Fritzson Linköpings Universitet, Sweden Michael Gerndt Tech. Universität München, Germany Gerda Janssens Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium Clinton L. Jeffery New Mexico State University, USA Mariam Kamkar Linköpings Universitet, Sweden Dieter Kranzlmüller Joh. Kepler University Linz, Austria Raimondas Lencevicius Nokia Research Center, Boston Edu Metz Nokia Research Center, Boston Henrik Nilsson Yale University, USA Michiel Ronsse Ghent University, Belgium Gary Sevitsky IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA Markus Stumptner University of South Australia, Australia Kazunori Ueda Waseda University, Japan Roland Wismüller Technische Univ. München, Germany

