Free MEMS/Photonics Design Opportunity via EUROPRACTICE

The European Commission wants to stimulate MEMS and Silicon Photonics design in more of the 500 European EUROPRACTICE member universities.

Stimulation Action for VERY FIRST USERS in MEMS design

For European universities that have not prototyped a MEMS design through EUROPRACTICE since 2005, EUROPRACTICE offers 5 such first users a FREE prototype fabrication (excluding packaging) of a minimum blocksize design on an MPW run in any of the MUMPs technologies from MEMSCAP (PolyMUMPs, SOIMUMPs or PiezoMUMPs), representing a value of 4000 EURO.

Stimulation Action for VERY FIRST USERS in Silicon Photonics

For European universities that have not prototyped a Silicon Photonics design through EUROPRACTICE since 2005, EUROPRACTICE offers 6 such first users a prototype fabrication with a reduction of 5000 EURO of any blocksize design on any run in either the ePIXfab technologies from imec and LETI or the PIC technologies from IHP (either SG25_PIC or SG25H_EPIC).


-          Current EUROPRACTICE university member

-          Multiple applications can be submitted, but a maximum of 1 design per university can be approved

-          The design has to be taped out on a run before 30 April 2018 

How to apply

-          A proposal must be submitted on the attached template via email to (the template is also available at

-          Deadline for proposal submissions is 31 May 2017

-          Proposals will be evaluated by an Independent Committee and the selected first users will be informed before 15 July 2017

Evaluation criteria

-          How you intend to evolve your teaching to address the challenges in MEMS or photonics designs

-          How this will lead to further research and fabrication by your institute

-          Clarity of application and credibility of case

-          Proposed MEMS/photonics design and proposed design methodology to be used

We would be grateful if you would bring this announcement to the attention of your colleagues within your EUROPRACTICE member institute.

Universities from the following countries can participate

28 EU countries and Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Georgia, Iceland, Israel, Liechtenstein, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey, Serbia and Ukraine.



Dr John A McLean

Head, Microelectronics Support Centre and Manager Europractice Design Tool Service

Science and Technology Facilities Council

Rutherford Appleton Laboratory

Harwell Oxford

Didcot, OX11 0QX


Tel +44 (0) 1235 44 5276

www (STFC)

www (Europractice Design Tools)

EPStimulationAction-MEMS-SiPhotonics-v1.pdf125.93 KB
Application_MEMS_SI-PHOTONICS_FIRST_USERS_STIMULATION_ACTION_2016_template_final.docx70.85 KB